breaffy gaa award winners

Bord na nÓg Awards 2015

Breaffy Bord Na nÓg GAA Club held its annual underage awards evening recently in Breaffy GAA Clubhouse. Michael Callaghan, Breaffy Bord Na nÓg Chairperson, introduced special guest for the presentation evening Roberto Wallace, NFL star, who was a former Miami Dolphins wide receiver and speed coach. Roberto is with the Breaffy Club for a week to get a taste of how to play Gaelic Football and to immerse himself in the Culture of the GAA and experience its uniqueness, while Breaffy’s  Aiden O’ Shea has gone to an NFL  American Football Team to experience how American football is played.
Michael Callaghan applauded all the underage players for such a fantastic year of football playing and representing Breaffy Club with such distinction and pride. He also introduced other special guests for the presentation evening, Seamus Tuohy, (Vice Chairperson, Mayo County Board) and Breaffy and Mayo Goalkeeper Robbie Hennelly. Both special guests  spoke about the importance of enjoying Gaelic Football and training to each players potential. Robbie Hennelly referred to the fact that 5 Breaffy players (Seamus, Conor & Aiden  o’ Shea, Michael Hall & Robbie Hennelly) started for the Mayo Senior Team v Dublin recently and that Breaffy has a lot of very talented underage players who are representing their County at all ages.
The awards commenced with  the Breaffy u6s Academy graduation Team led by their Coach Co-Ordinator Ray McTigue .Roberto Wallace NFL, presented the players with their certificates.
Breaffy u10s were joint winners (with Castlebar Mitchels) of the Kilmeena  u10 Blitz Cup. This was the second year in a row they have won this competition. Breaffy u10 Captain, Aiden Cunningham led his team to the podium where they received their medals and cup presentation.
Breaffy u12s were next applauded for their dedication and having had a great year of football. Five u12 players,(Shane Burns, Conor Golden, Pierce Deane, Conor Burke & Declan Ruane) under the tutelage of their coach, Philip Beirne, won the Connaught skills u12 competition held in the Connaught Centre of excellence. This was the first time that Breaffy u12s won this competition and was a great achievement by the players involved. On the awards front, Shane Burns won the u12 Player of the year award, while Tom Ward won the most improved players of the year.
At u13 grade, Oisin Tunney won the player of the year award, while Brian Connolly won most improved player.
In the u14 Category, Coach Gerry Jennings paid tribute to a wonderful group of players whose team spirit and commitment brought them many accolades. Breaffy u14 team won the County Division 2 league final in McHale Park where they overcame Bonniconlon. They also won the u14 West Mayo title, defeating Islandeady in the final. In addition, they also got to the final of the All Ireland Feile GAA competition in their division and were narrowly beaten in the final.U14 Player of the Year was Team Captain and top scorer for the year Padraig Beirne, while Conal Murray won the most improved player of the year.
At u15 level  Ryan Corrigan won the player of the year, while David Livingstone won most improved player.
In the u16 Category, Manager Sean Dean paid tribute to a team who after suffering a heavy  defeat by Ardnaree in their first match of the season, went undefeated for the rest of the season and also won the County Div 2 league final by beating Ardnaree in the final. Players player of the year award was won by Conor Beirne, while players most improved player award went to Aaron Naughton. Managers player of the year award went to Oisin Burns and Managers most improved player of the year went to Adam Ruane.
Breaffy  Bord na nÓg Chairperson Michael Callaghan  concluded by thanking parents, club coaches, & volunteers for their dedication to making  Breaffy Club a special club for all players to come and enjoy Gaelic Football.